E-Verify Requirements for Employers: Are you in Compliance?

On January 1, 2012 Georgia and South Carolina added E-Verify Requirements. If you have an employee working in Georgia or South Carolina make sure you are in compliance.

South Carolina: Amendments to the “South Carolina Illegal Immigration and Reform Act” requires all employers to enroll in the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s E-Verify system and to verify the legal status of all new employees through E-Verify within three business days. Failure to enroll in and use E-Verify to verify new hires will result in probation for the employer or suspension/revocation of the employer’s business licenses.
Georgia: “The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011” mandates employers with 500 or more workers to use E-Verify for their employees starting on January 1, 2012. As of July 1, 2012, businesses of 100 or more employees will have to start using E-Verify as well, and as of January of 2013, all businesses with 10 or more employees will have to use the system. Businesses with fewer than ten employees are exempt from the E-Verify requirement.

Contact Hull Barrett’s Labor & Employment Group to Learn More About E-Verify